How do I use Expiring Posts?
You may have a scenario when you don’t want to share a post only once, but you don’t want to keep it evergreen either.
Say you’re having a promotion on a product, you’ll probably want to push that offer a couple of times in the days before, but want to make sure it won’t appear again after the promotion is done. This is why we’ve created Expiring Posts.
As you can see, there are a few ways of doing this:
Expire a post at a specific time and date
You can set an expiration date for your post. This means that the post will be used as many times as it can, up until the date you set.
So, for instance, if you were to offer a promotion for Valentine’s Day, you’d set the expiring date on February 14th. Now, depending on the schedule you’ve created (or generated) the post will be shared every time it can be, but only up until that date. Starting with February 15th, the post will no longer be shared.
Expire a post after it was posted a number of times
If you don’t want to wear the post too thin, you can also choose to publish it a specific number of times.
This means that if you want to promote a new offer, without annoying your followers, you’ll set a maximum number of times this post can be published.
That way, when the post has reached the limit you imposed, it will stop being published.
Note: You can also use this feature with imported content (RSS Feeds, Pocket or Bulk Imports).
Using both Expiring features
Depending on your specific needs, there might be situations when you’ll want to use both of the expiring features mentioned. Good news! You can do that.
So, for instance, if you’re asking for a vote to win an award, you might not want to be too aggressive. In this scenario, you can use both an expiring date and a maximum number of times to be posted.
This way, if the award show is on the 15th of February you’ll set the expiration date to the day before (February 14th), and set the post to be shared for 10 times. This way, your post might be shared up to ten times until the date you set.
If this doesn’t suit your needs, don’t forget you can also use specific posting times to schedule your posts.
What happens to a post when it expires?
The post will get archived so that you won't see it anymore (this way you won't accidentally share it after it expires). So, if you want to keep your post as a template as well, we recommend creating a draft post too.