How do I Import Links?

Importing links in bulk to your account is easy peasy! All you have to do is navigate to your Content menu and click Import Links. This will take you to the importing dashboard.

There, you will have to follow through with 3 important steps:

  1. Select the profiles you want to add this content to;
  2. Paste the links you want to import;
  3. Select the category you want to add them to.

Once you have done that, you will be able to scroll to the bottom and import the links into your desired category.

There are three more options that you can change in this tab: where you want your posts to be added in relation to your queue, add posts as Approved, and append text to your posts.

To select where to add posts in relation to your queue, you have 3 main options: Add posts to the category default (will be filled in automatically, according to your category settings), add them to the top, or add them to the bottom.

Add posts as Approved is as intuitive as it can get: leave it green (to the right) for posts to be added as Approved, or click on it and make it red (to the left) for posts to be added as Not Approved. Easy peasy, 🍋 squeezy!

Appending text to your posts means that the same text (in this case, "🐝 via SocialBee") will be added to all posts and all your profiles like a signature. Keep in mind that, because tagging accounts works differently for distinct social media networks, it might not work for all your profiles.

Advanced Settings

Next to Import links, there is a special tab dedicated to the advanced settings of the import. Some apply to all users, regardless of their platform plan, some are only available to Accelerate plans or higher.

You can choose between setting posts to expire, choosing not to shorten links, trimming your text for Twitter, removing UTMs from your pasted links, and adding posts with an attached image to them. Let's go through them one by one.

Setting the post to expire can be important if you want to make sure your content stays fresh and relevant.

You can choose to set posts to expire after they've been published a number of times. This means that your posts will remain in the category until that limit is reached.

You can also choose to set them to expire after a number of days, which means that posts will be archived from your category once that time passes, even if they were never shared. This is great for news articles or fast-paced industries.

Trim text for Twitter is checked by default and allows us to shorten the text so it is suitable for Twitter sharing. Don’t worry - we’ll trim from the title of the post, so we keep the Appended Text and URL intact.

Add as image, when possible, finds the main image from the link and adds it on its own to your post, without the link preview. The main image will be the one set as an OG:Image in your HTML or the main large image we can find. Keep in mind that this feature will not work if you select any Facebook Profile. On the other hand, this is the default setting for Pinterest and Instagram posts.

Don't shorten the links is pretty self-explanatory, we think. If you don't want your category's short link settings to be applied to the imported links just tick this box and links will be added normally.

Remove UTM Parameters is another feature that will come enabled by default and it will remove all the parameters attached to the links you pasted for the import. Keep in mind that this will not override your category's settings.

Text of the post is a feature that is available to users under Accelerate or any higher plans. Here you can choose between three options:

  • Link Title, which will import the title of the article as a caption;
  • Link Description, which will import the description of the article as a caption;
  • No text, only Link Preview, which will only generate the link preview for the article.

Preview your posts 

Once you've got all these settings down, you might want to see how these posts will be published to your social media. If you've added the links in your Import Links tab, you'll notice that a preview has already been generated for one of your profiles. To switch between them, navigate with your mouse to the top-right corner, click on the drop-down menu, and select the profile you want to preview your posts for.

The most recent 3 links from your import will be previewed in this section.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us